Skip to content

2021 Club Awards

Brisbane Broncos

Payne Haas continues his remarkable start to his career, becoming the first Bronco since Allan Langer to win the Paul Morgan Medal for Player of the Year for three consecutive seasons.

Cyril Connell Award | Rookie of the Year Kobe Hetherington

Kevin Walters Award | Most Consistent Jake Turpin

Allan Langer Award | Best Back Herbie Farnworth

Shane Webcke Award | Best Forward Payne Haas

Wally Lewis Award | Play of the Year Payne Haas Rd16 v Sharks (79th min)

Clubperson of the Year | Eloise Kelly & Dave Ballard

Gary Balkin Award Players’ Player | Payne Haas

Paul Morgan Medal Player of the Year | Payne Haas

Canberra Raiders

An amazing comeback for Rapana who seemed lost to the Raiders for Rugby at the end of 2019, he worked his way back in to earn a new 2 year deal as well as the prestigious Meninga Medal for 2021.

NSW Cup Player of the Year | Kai O’Donnell

NSW Cup Coaches Award | Matt Frawley

Geoff Caldwell Welfare & Education Award | Elliott Whitehead

Gordon McLucas Memorial Junior Representative Player of the Year | Trey Mooney

Fred Daly Memorial Club Person of the Year | Grant Hogan

NRL Rookie of the Year | Harley Smith-Shields & Matt Timoko

NRL Coaches Award | Tom Starling

Meninga Medal | Jordan Rapana

Canterbury Bulldogs

Club captain Josh Jackson was named the 2021 Dr George Peponis Player of the Year.

In his tenth season of first grade and his fourth as captain, Jackson led from the front every week and overcame a calf injury during the year to appear in 17 matches, making 786 tackles and averaging 113 running metres per game.

Dr George Peponis Award (Player of the Year) | Josh Jackson

Coaches Award | Jake Averillo

Steve Mortimer Rookie of the Year | Bailey Biondi-Odo

Peter Warren Community Service Medal | Raymond Faitala-Mariner

Cronulla Sharks

As just one of 6 Sharks ‘Irom Men’ (playing all 24 matches), William Kennedy has won the Porter Gallen Medal as the Cronulla Sharks Player of the Year.

Porter Gallen Medalist | William Kennedy

Steve Rogers Rookie of the Year | Luke Metcalf

Sharks have heart Community Award | Ronaldo Mulitalo

Wellbeing & Education Award | Aiden Tolman

Gold Coast Titans

In just his first year with the club, Tino Fa’asuamaleaui is the 2021 Paul Broughton Medalist.

Paul Broughton Medalist | Tino Fa’asuamaleaui

Rookie of the Year | Jayden Campbell

Members MVP | Tino Fa’asuamaleaui

Coaches’ Award | Corey Thompson

“The Preston” | Jamal Fogarty

Many Sea Eagles

Player of the Year | Tom Trbojevic

Players’ Player | Tom Trbojevic

Members Player of the Year | Tom Trbojevic

Rising Star Award | Josh Schuster & Jason Saab

Clubman of the Year | Toafofoa Sipley

Club Community Award | Sean Keppie

Melbourne Storm


Newcastle Knights

NSW Cup Player of the Year | Zac Hosking

Rookie of the Year | Brodie Jones

Clubperson of the Year | Mathew Morriss and Jane Farrell

NRL Players’ Player | Connor Watson

Danny Buderus Medal ‘Player of the Year’ | Jacob Saifiti

North Queensland Cowboys

Coen Hess has broken the 5 season streak of Jason Taumalolo to claim the Paul Bowman Medal as the Cowboys Player of the year.

The night was capped off with Johnathan Thurston being inducted as the 4th member of the Cowboys Hall of Fame.

Club Person of the Year | Ben Hampton 

Townsville Bulletin Fans Choice Award | Jake Granville

JCU Education Award | Corey Jensen 

Members Player of the Year | Jake Granville 

Rookie of the Year | Heilum Luki

Gold Stars Cowboys Way Award | Jordii Mahendrarajah

Gold Stars Player of the Year Award | Emma Manzelmann

Players Player of the Year | Murray Taulagi

NRL Cowboys Way Award | Jake Granville

Paul Bowman Medal for Cowboy of the Year | Coen Hess

Parramatta Eels


Penrith Panthers


South Sydney Rabbitohs

Women’s Players’ Player | Katie Brown

Women’s Player of the Year | Seli Mailangi

The Burrow Appreciation Award Women’s MVP | Rikka Lamb

Jersey Flegg Players’ Player | Tallis Angianga

Jersey Flegg Player of the Year | Ben Lovett

NSW Cup Players’ Player | Trent Peoples

NSW Cup Player of the Year | Dean Hawkins

The Burrow Appreciation Award MVP | Cody Walker

Roy Asotasi Member’ Choice Award | Cam Murray

Albert Clift Award | Sunny Brar

John Sattler Rookie of the Year | Blake Taaffe

Bob Mccarthy Clubman of the Year | Mark Nicholls

Jack Rayner Players’ Player | Cody Walker

George Piggins Medal – Rabbitohs Player of the Year | Cody Walker

St George Illawarra Dragons

Despite injuries that limited him to 15 games in the season, Ben Hunt has taken out the Dragons Player of the Year award for the first time.

Veteran hooker and vice-captain Andrew McCullough was named as the Immortals Trophy recipient following his first season at the Dragons.

Geoff Selby Memorial Trophy (Best Emerging Talent) | Talatau Amone

Immortals Trophy | Andrew McCullough

Dragons Player of the Year | Ben Hunt

Sydney Roosters

James Tedesco has won the Jack Gibson Medal for the 4th consecutive year at the Roosters awards.

Members Player of the Year | James Tedesco

Our Community Award | Nat Butcher

Harry Phipps Rising Star Award | Sam Walker

Barry Van Heekeren “MOCCA” Award | Head of Physiotherapy Stephen Brennan

James Mathews Clubman of the Year Award | Nat Butcher

Jack Gibson Medal Roosters Player of the Year | James Tedesco

New Zealand Warriors

Tohu Harris took out the Simon Mannering Medal for the second straight year, beating out Addin Fonua-Blake (Players’ Player), Euan Aitken and Wayde Eagn

Vodafone NRL Rookie of the Year  | Reece Walsh

Canterbury of NZ Clubman of the Year | Marcelo Montoya

NRL Players’ Player of the Year | Addin Fonua-Blake

Simon Mannering Medal | Tohu Harris

Wests Tigers

Wayne Pearce Community Award | Adam Doueihi

Jersey Flegg Player of the Year | Rua Ngatikaura

NSW Cup Player of the Year | Jock Madden

NSW Women’s Premiership Player of the Year | Emily Curtain

NRL Rookie of the Year | Stefano Utokiamanu

Players’ Player | Adam Doueihi

Clubperson of the Year | Simon Dwyer

Player of the Year | Luke Brooks & Daine Laurie



Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: